The admission to the exhibitions Christo and Jeanne-Claude and Time present is free.
Please reserve your time slot in the  ticket shop.
Background

The second solo exhibition at the PalaisPopulaire presents what is probably the world’s most famous artistic duo: Christo and Jeanne-Claude. They succeeded in breaking through the narrow boundaries of the art business and attracting the interest of a broad public in their spectacular large-scale projects. Particularly impressive and unforgettable for many Berliners and visitors to this day is the Wrapped Reichstag. This year marks the twenty-fifth anniversary of the project.

Not only for this reason, but also because of it long relationship with the artist couple, Deutsche Bank is showing the exhibition Christo and Jeanne-Claude: Projects 1963–2020 at the PalaisPopulaire. Ingrid and Thomas Jochheim, who loaned around seventy works for the show, are presenting this part of their collection comprehensively for the first time.

On display are works created between 1963 and 2019, including early objects, large-format drawing tableaux, as well as editions and prints. After wrapping everyday objects in foil and binding them with cord—from stacks of magazines to VW Beetles—Christo and Jeanne-Claude increasingly devoted themselves to artistic transformations and accentuations of entire landscapes or architectures. Between 1962 and 2019, twenty-three projects were realized on different continents. After the death of his wife in 2009, Christo continued the projects he planned with her. Christo died this year on May 31th a few days before his 85th birthday.

All of the projects are made possible exclusively through sales of preliminary studies, drawings, collages, original lithographs, and editions. Christo and Jeanne-Claude did not accept any kind of funding, neither from public nor private sources.

Christo’s drawings are much more than just sketches of ideas, drafts, or construction instructions. They bear a very individual signature in their lines, hatchings, lighting, and coloring. In addition, the collaged plans, materials, fabrics, and photographs, and the identical acrylic glass covers, make them unmistakable, even unique. And they show what a great draftsman Christo was.

In addition, Christo and Jeanne-Claude’s projects aim to raise awareness of social and historical processes through veiling. In particular, the transformation of the parliament building in reunified Berlin in 1995 hit the nerve of the time. More than five million visitors from all over the world came to see it. And as always, the effect on the audience was peaceful, cheerful, almost euphoric. The art of Christo and Jeanne-Claude has no claim to permanence. Rather, it thrives on the appeal of unrepeatable eventfulness.

Media partner of the exhibition:

 

Film program in the Atelier

  • The Runnning Fence Revisited, 2010
    by Wolfram Hissen, 60 minutes, Original version
    Monday 11 am & 1 pm
    Wednesday through Sunday
  • Along US 50, 2008
    Film by Wolfram Hissen, 62 minutes, English original version
    Monday 12 noon
    Wednesday through Sunday 2 pm
  • Christo—Walking on Water, 2018,
    Film by Andrey Paounov, 100 minutes, 
    English-Italian original version with subtitles in German
    © Alamode Film
    Monday 2 pm
  • Dem Deutschen Volke – Verhüllter Reichstag (Wrapped Reichstag) 1971–95, 1996
    Film by Wolfram Hissen and Jorg Daniel Hissen, 95 Min
    Original version with subtitles in German and English
    Wednesday, Friday through Sunday 12 noon & 4 pm
    Thursday 12 noon & 4 pm & 6 pm

 

 

Wrapped Reichstag (Project for Berlin), 1987
Christo and Jeanne-Claude
Wrapped Reichstag (Project for Berlin), 1987
Drawing; pencil, charcoal, wax crayon, and map, two parts, 38 x 165 and 106.6 x 165 cm
The Floating Piers (Project for Lago d’Iseo, Italy), 2014
The Floating Piers (Project for Lago d’Iseo, Italy), 2014
Collage; pencil, wax crayon, enamel paint, photograph by Wolfgang Volz, map, fabric sample, and tape, 43,2 x 55,9 cm
L’Arc de Triomphe (Project for Paris, Place de l’Etoile – Charles de Gaulle), 2019
L’Arc de Triomphe (Project for Paris, Place de l’Etoile – Charles de Gaulle), 2019
Collage; pencil, wax crayon, enamel paint, photograph by Wolfgang Volz, map, and tage, 43.2 x 55.9 cm
Wrapped Appliqués, 1963
The Gates (Project for Central Park, New York City), 1998
Drawing; pencil, charcoal, pastel, wax crayon, photograph by Wolfgang Volz, and aerial photograph, two-parts, 244 x 106.6 and 244 x 38 cm
The Gates (Project for Central Park, New York City), 1998
Wrapped Appliqués, 1963
appliquiés, polyethylene and twine, mounted on painted board, 46 x 24 cm
Katalog-9147o_850.jpg

Die zweite Einzelausstellung des PalaisPopulaire präsentiert das weltweit wohl bekannteste künstlerische Duo unserer Zeit: Christo und Jeanne-Claude. Ihnen gelang es, die engen Grenzen des Kunstbetriebs zu durchbrechen und eine breite Öffentlichkeit für ihre spektakulären Großprojekte zu interessieren. Besonders eindrucksvoll und für viele Berliner und Besucher bis heute unvergesslich ist dabei die Verhüllung des Reichstags, die sich jetzt zum fünfundzwanzigsten Mal jährt.

Nicht nur aus diesem Anlass, sondern auch wegen der langen Verbundenheit mit dem Künstlerpaar, zeigt die Deutsche Bank im PalaisPopulaire die Ausstellung Christo and Jeanne-Claude: Projects 1963–2020. Als Leihgeber von circa siebzig Werken konnten Ingrid und Thomas Jochheim gewonnen werden, die diesen Teil ihrer Sammlung zum ersten Mal so umfangreich präsentieren.

Zu sehen sind Arbeiten, die von 1963 bis 2019 entstanden sind, darunter frühe Objekte, großformatige Zeichnungstableaus sowie Editionen und Druckgrafiken. Nach in Folien verpackten und mit Schnüren umwickelten Alltagsgegenständen – vom Zeitschriftenstapel bis zum VW-Käfer – widmeten sich Christo und Jeanne-Claude zunehmend künstlerischen Transformationen und Akzentuierungen von ganzen Landschaften oder Architekturen. Von 1962 bis 2019 konnten dreiundzwanzig Projekte auf verschiedenen Kontinenten realisiert werden. Seit dem Tod seiner Frau im Jahre 2009 führt Christo die mit ihr geplanten Vorhaben weiter fort.

Sämtliche Projekte werden ausschließlich durch den Verkauf von Vorstudien, Zeichnungen, Collagen, Originallithografien und Editionen ermöglicht. Christo und Jeanne-Claude akzeptieren keinerlei Fördermittel, weder aus öffentlicher noch privater Hand.

Christos Zeichnungen sind viel mehr als nur Ideenskizzen, Entwürfe oder Konstruktionsanleitungen. Sie zeigen in ihrer Strichführung, Schraffur, Lichtgebung und Farbigkeit eine ganz individuelle Handschrift. Zudem sind sie auch durch die collagierten Pläne, Materialien, Stoffe oder Fotografien und ihre immer gleiche Acrylglas-Umhüllung unverwechselbar, ja einzigartig. Und ein Zeugnis dafür, welch ein großartiger Zeichner Christo ist.

Auch die Bewusstmachung sozialer und historischer Prozesse durch die Verhüllung ist in den Projekten von Christo und Jeanne-Claude intendiert. Insbesondere die Verwandlung des Parlamentsgebäudes im wiedervereinten Berlin trifft 1995 den Nerv der Zeit. Über fünf Millionen Besucher und Besucherinnen aus aller Welt kommen. Und wie immer ist die Wirkung auf das Publikum auch bei diesem Projekt friedvoll, heiter, geradezu euphorisierend. Die Kunst von Christo und Jeanne-Claude ist eine Kunst ohne Anspruch auf Dauerhaftigkeit. Sie lebt vielmehr vom Reiz unwiederholbarer Ereignishaftigkeit.

Medienpartner der Ausstellung:

Filmprogramm im Atelier

  • The Runnning Fence Revisited, 2010
    Film von Wolfram Hissen, 47 Minuten, Englische Originalfassung mit deutschen Untertiteln
    Montag 11 & 13 Uhr,
    Mittwoch bis Sonntag 11 & 15 Uhr

  • Along US 50, 2008
    Film von Wolfram Hissen, 62 Minuten, Englische Originalfassung
    Montag 12 Uhr,
    Mittwoch bis Sonntag 14 Uhr
  • Christo—Walking on Water, 2018
    Film von Andrey Paounov, 100 Minuten,
    Englisch-ltalienische Orginalfassung mit deutschen Untertiteln

    © Alamode Film
    Montag 14 Uhr
  • Dem Deutschen Volke – Verhüllter ReicFhstag (Wrapped Reichstag) 1971–95, 1996
    Film von Wolfram Hissen und Jörg Daniel Hissen, 95 Minuten,
    Originalfassung mit Deutschen und Englischen Untertiteln
    Montag 16 Uhr
    Mittwoch, Freitag, Samstag, Sonntag 12 & 16 Uhr
    Donnerstag 12 & 16 & 18 Uhr

Wrapped Reichstag (Project for Berlin), 1987
Christo und Jeanne-Claude
Wrapped Reichstag (Project for Berlin), 1987
Zeichnung; Bleistift, Kohle, Wachskreide und Karte, zweiteilig, 38 x 165 und 106,6 x 165 cm
The Floating Piers (Project for Lago d’Iseo, Italy), 2014
The Floating Piers (Project for Lago d’Iseo, Italy), 2014
Collage; Bleistift, Wachskreide, Emailfarbe, Fotografie von Wolfgang Volz, Karte, Stoffmuster und Klebeband, 43,2 x 55,9 cm
L’Arc de Triomphe (Project for Paris, Place de l’Etoile – Charles de Gaulle), 2019
L’Arc de Triomphe (Project for Paris, Place de l’Etoile – Charles de Gaulle), 2019
Collage; Bleistift, Wachskreide, Emailfarbe, Fotografie von Wolfgang Volz, Karte und Klebeband, 43,2 x 56,9 cm
Wrapped Appliqués, 1963
The Gates (Project for Central Park, New York City), 1998
Zeichnung; Bleistift, Kohle, Pastell, Wachskreide, Fotografie von Wolfgang Volz, Luftaufnahme, zweiteilig,  244 x 106,6 und 244 x 38 cm
The Gates (Project for Central Park, New York City), 1998
Wrapped Appliqués, 1963
Applikationen, Polyethylen und Schnur, montiert auf bemalter Holzplatte, 46 x 24 cm
Katalog-9147o_850.jpg